The Global Read

    Image

    The Long Room at Trinity College (Dublin, Ireland)

    You're here because, like most of us, you like to read a good book. The Global Read aims to make it easy to do just that. We've selected books that bring awareness to the theme of compassion and relate to one or more of the Charter's twelve sectors. You will have the opportunity to hear directly from the book's author in a live webinar format.

    Better yet, you're given the chance to interact with the author and ask questions and/or comment on their book.

    Please tell your friends about us - and form your own small group for dialogue. Then be sure to register and join us for our live event.

    Click here to learn more about how this will work...

    The Upcoming Global Reads


    The Compassion Project: A Case for Hope & Humankindness from the Town that Beat Loneliness

    by Julian Abel & Lindsay Clarke
    January 20 2021, 12 pm P.T./8 p.m. UK-GMT/1:30 am India-IST/Australia 7 a.m. AEDT

    ProjectA culture in which compassion is a prevailing value allows individuals to flourish and bring their talents and gifts to the communities in which they live. Unanticipated possibilities emerge, presenting fresh ways of addressing what previously appeared to be insoluble problems. Hearts are lifted. The case for hope is more made. And as the people who work in this way begin to change the world immediately around them,so too, the wider world beyond begins to change.

    ~ Dr. Julian Abel & Lindsay Clarke

    Society has developed in such a way to facilitate a drastic malnourishment of community, connection and compassion. This book sets out the case for the effective restoration of the active power of compassion as a widely available, fundamental force for good in all aspects of human life. In the process, it draws attention to research which demonstrates that an innate capacity and need for compassionate behavior is closely woven into the fabric of our bodies.

    Read More and Register here!

    Read Graham Williams' review of the book here!

    Would you like to sponsor this Global Read? Sponsored Reads are free to all participants. Contact Kate Trnka at kate@charterforcompassion.org to ask about sponsorships 

     


     

    Save Your City: How Toxic Culture Kills Community & What to Do about it

    by Diane Kalen-Sukra
    February 18 2021, 5 p.m. Pacific Time
    February 19 2021, 1 a.m. London-GMT/6:30 a.m. India-IST/12 p.m. Sydney Aus-AEDT

    Registration now Open! 

    Save Your CityToxic culture is eroding our sense of belonging, community and well-being. Our capacity to collaborate and innovate together is also being undermined by the rising incivility and divisiveness.

    We need each other to address the complex challenges facing our cities and communities--from the infrastructure deficit to climate change, homelessness, mental health and addiction issues. In order to thrive, our local democracies depend on our ability to revive the art of living and working well together.

    Save Your City author and veteran community builder Diane Kalen-Sukra, MA, CMC empowers community leaders and citizens to be part of the solution. She demonstrates what's involved by taking readers on a journey from Bullyville to Sustainaville, including an eye-opening visit to classical antiquity.

    The successful journey includes a renaissance of civic values and civic education as vital to fostering the type of culture that can sustain us, our democracy and our planet.

    Read More and Register here! 

    Would you like to sponsor this Global Read? Sponsored Reads are free to all participants. Contact Kate Trnka at kate@charterforcompassion.org to ask about sponsorships 


     

    The Inner Self: The Joy of Discovering Who We Really Are

    by Hugh MacKay
    Monday March 8 2021, 5 p.m. Pacific Time
    Tuesday March 9 2021, 1 a.m. London-GMT/6:30 a.m. India-IST/12 p.m. Sydney Aus-AEDT

    Mark Your Calendars! Registration will open February 2021!

    THE INNER SELF COVER

     

    If you're interested in the question 'Who am I?', and you're unsure of the answer but have a sneaking suspicion that the way other people perceive you is the the real you, then you are precisely the person I had in mind when writing this book.

    ~ Hugh MacKay in his Preface to The Inner Self

    The Inner Self is a book about the ways we hide from the truth about ourselves - both as individuals and as human beings - and the psychological freedom we enjoy when we finally face that most searching question of all: ‘Who am I, really?’

    Hugh Mackay, one of Australia’s most respected social psychologists, explores our ‘top 20’ hiding places - from addiction to materialism, nostalgia to victimhood. His explanation for our evasiveness is simple but profound: we fear the demands of love.


    Read More. Registration opens in February, 2021
     

    Would you like to sponsor this Global Read? Sponsored Reads are free to all participants. Contact Kate Trnka at kate@charterforcompassion.org to ask about sponsorships



    Sand Talk - How Indigenous Thinking can Save the World

    by Tyson Yunkaporta
    Tuesday April 13, 2021, 5 p.m. Pacific Time;
    Wednesday April 14, 2021, 1 a.m. London-GMT/5:30 a.m. India-IST/10 a.m. Sydney, Australia-AEST
     

    Mark your Calendars: Registration will be open March 2021!

    Sand Talk

    This remarkable book is about everything from echidnas to evolution, cosmology to cooking, sex and science and spirits to Schrödinger’s cat.

    As an indigenous person, Tyson Yunkaporta looks at global systems from a unique perspective, one tied to the natural and spiritual world. In considering how contemporary life diverges from the pattern of creation, he raises important questions. How does this affect us? How can we do things differently?

    In this thoughtful, culturally rich, mind-expanding book, he provides answers.

     

     

    Would you like to sponsor this Global Read? Sponsored Reads are free to all participants. Contact Kate Trnka at kate@charterforcompassion.org to ask about sponsorships.

     


     

    Apeirogon - The Novel

    by Colum McCann

    Date:
    Wednesday August 25 2021 at 7 a.m. Pacific Time; London-BST 3 p.m.; Bangalore-IST 7:30 p.m.
    Thursday August 26 2021 at 12 a.m. Sydney Aus-AEDT

    Registration: Opening Soon!

    ApeirogonBassam Aramin is Palestinian. Rami Elhanan is Israeli. They inhabit a world of conflict that colors every aspect of their daily lives, from the roads they are allowed to drive on, to the schools their daughters, Abir and Smadar, each attend, to the checkpoints, both physical and emotional, they must negotiate.

    Their worlds shift irreparably after ten-year-old Abir is killed by a rubber bullet and thirteen-year-old Smadar becomes the victim of suicide bombers. When Bassam and Rami learn of each other's stories, they recognize the loss that connects them and they attempt to use their grief as a weapon for peace.

    McCann crafts Apeirogon out of a universe of fictional and nonfictional material. He crosses centuries and continents, stitching together time, art, history, nature, and politics in a tale both heartbreaking and hopeful.

     

    Would you like to sponsor this Global Read? Sponsored Reads are free to all participants. Contact Kate Trnka at kate@charterforcompassion.org to ask about sponsorships.

     

    © 2021 Charter for Compassion. All rights reserved.

    Please publish modules in offcanvas position.